The Coffee House

Full Version: Civilization games - General discussion
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
This is a thread for general discussion of the games from the Civilization series, which has endured for over a quarter of a century now. So far, there have been six entries in the main series: 

That's not all, though. There have also been several spin-offs over the years, including Civilization Revolution, Civilization IV: Colonization, and Civilization: Beyond Earth. So, all in all, we have around a dozen games to discuss here :P

Myself, I've been playing the franchise since 2010, when I got the then-new Civilization V for my birthday. At this time, it was being savaged by long-time fans of the series; however, I had never known any different, so I had a blast with it :P . In fact, I've accumulated over 2,000 hours on Civ 5 on my Steam account over the years :O . I did later get Civilization IV, but as I explained in this thread, I never managed to get into it :( . Later on, I picked up both Civilization Beyond Earth and Civilization VI when they were new - and, while they never ate up my entire gaming time in the way that Civ 5 did, I've had great fun with both :D . Now, I'm excited about the upcoming Gathering Storm expansion for Civ 6, which was announced yesterday:

So, what about you? Which games in the series have you played, and which is your favourite?
To be perfectly honest, I have always have a hard time with Civilization. I own the fifth installment for PC and a friend of mine let me borrow the second one when it was one of the hottest IPs around, yet I could never get into it.

Maybe it is because I didn't really give it much time to grow on me, or maybe it is because I found it intimidating when I DID give it a try, but the thing is that I could never sit down and lead my empire to whatever goal you are supposed to achieve.